West Bengal Municipal polls: Mamata thanks ‘maa, maati, manush’ for TMC’s win - Hindustan Times

West Bengal Municipal polls: Mamata thanks ‘maa, maati, manush’ for TMC’s victory

By | Written by Ishika Yadav | Edited by Chandrashekar Srinivasan
Mar 02, 2022 02:21 PM IST

The ruling Trinamool has registered landslide victory in former BJP and Congress strongholds.

Counting of votes in the Bengal civic polls is underway today and chief minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress is all set for a landslide win. Mamata took to Twitter to express her gratitude to the people fir ‘yet another overwhelming mandate’ to the party.

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee. (PTI)
West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee. (PTI)

“Heart-felt gratitude to Ma-Mati-Manush for yet another overwhelming mandate to us,” she wrote on Twitter.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

‘Maa, Mati, and Manush’ - or ‘Mother, Land, People’ - is the party's emotional war cry.

She also congratulated the winning candidates of the TMC and said, “Let this victory enhance our responsibility and dedication. Let triumph impart humility. Let us work together for peace, prosperity and development of the state.”

Of the total 2,171seats, Mamata’s TMC has won a massive 994 seats, and is leading in other 456 seats as well. The independent candidates logged victory in 83 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party managed to win 46 seats, followed by the Congress at 32 seats and CPI(M) at 20 seats.

The ruling Trinamool has also registered wins in former BJP and Congress strongholds.

TMC won Baharampur , which is the stronghold of the Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, and also sealed the seat in Kharagpur civic body, a Bharatiya Janata Party stronghold.

TMC also won the Contai municipality - a stronghold of former party leader Suvendhu Adhikari, whose defection to the BJP last year, just before Assembly elections, made major headlines. Adhikari went on to defeat Mamata from the prized Nandigram seat.

Catch all the live updates here.

Tell us what your First Vote will stand for in a short video & get a chance to be featured on HT’s social media handles. Click here to know more!

Get Current Updates on India News, Elections 2024, Lok sabha election 2024 voting live , Karnataka election 2024 live in Bengaluru , Election 2024 Date along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, May 23, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On