HD Kumaraswamy likely to keep finance ministry; Congress’ Parameshwara may be deputy CM
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HD Kumaraswamy likely to keep finance ministry; Congress’ Parameshwara may be deputy CM

A coalition government of Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress is set to be sworn in after BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned.

Karnataka Elections 2018 Updated: May 20, 2018 15:49 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Bengaluru
Karnataka,HD Kumaraswamy,new Karnataka government
Janata Dal (Secular) leader H. D. Kumaraswamy, center, speaks to journalists in Bengaluru.(AP)

Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy is likely to take oath as Karnataka’s new chief minister tentatively between 12 and 1.50pm at Kanteerava stadium on May 23 after BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned two days after taking charge of the state’s top political post.

Kumaraswamy faces a delicate balancing act in allocating portfolios in his coalition government, with some key posts likely to go to post poll ally Congress.

People familiar with the matter said Congress leader G Parameshwara is likely to become the deputy chief minister and home minister. Kumaraswamy is likely to keep the finance portfolio with himself.

According to these people, most portfolios in Kumaraswamy’s council of ministers have been decided, though they added that this list could eventually change.

Here’s the likely list of Karnataka cabinet portfolios they have provided:

HD Kumaraswamy, Chief minister and finance minister, Janata Dal (Secular) or JD(S)

G Parameshwara, Deputy chief minister and home minister, Congress

CS Puttaraju, Agriculture, JD(S)

H Vishwanath, Education, JD(S)

KJ George, Bengaluru development minister, Congress

M Krishnappa, Sport, Congress

Krishna Byre Gowda, Information and publicity, Congress

N Mahesh, Social Welfare, JD(S)

GT Devegowda, Cooperatives, JD(S)

Bandeppa Kashempur, Textiles and Endowments, JD(S)

DC Thammanna, Labour, JD(S)

Dinesh Gundu Rao, Excise, Congress

Dr K Sudhakar, Health, Congress

Tanveer Sait, Higher Education, Congress

Roshan Baig, Forest, Congress

MD Patil, Food and Civil Supplies, Congress

RV Deshpande, Law and Parliamentary affairs, JD(S)

Satish Jarkiholi, Small Industries and Sugar, Congress

Dr Ajay, Science and Technology, Congress

S Shivashankarappa, Revenue, Congress

Ramalinga Reddy, Transport, Congress

AT Ramaswamy, Industries, JD(S)

R Narendra , Animal Husbandry, Congress

UT Khader, Health, Congress

First Published: May 19, 2018 19:41 IST