Delimitation Commission gives mixed reason to celebrate

There is a mixed bag for the senior BJP leader Kalyan Singh whose home district's Aligarh Lok Sabha seat has been taken out of reservation list, reports Umesh Raghuvanshi.

india Updated: Dec 18, 2006 23:38 IST

There is a reason to celebrate for some while many others including the Congress MP Jitin Prasad, the Jan Morcha Convenor Raj Babbar, UPCC President Salman Khurshid's wife Louis Khurshid and the Minister for Revenue Ambika Chaudhary would have to find new constituencies to keep their political going in Uttar Pradesh.

There is a mixed bag for the senior BJP leader Kalyan Singh whose home district's Aligarh Lok Sabha seat has been taken out of reservation list while Bulandshahar seat that he represents in Lok Sabha has been declared a reserve seat now. Kalyan Singh's Vidhan Sabha seat Atrauli has also been made part of Aligarh again.

Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav may have a sigh of relief as Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat he represented earlier remains a general seat. His home district's Etawah seat however has been placed in reserved category. The Bahujan Samaj Party Chief Mayawati who had earlier won from Akbarpur Lok Sabha seat too would have to look for a new seat. Akbarpur has been taken out of reserved category and renamed as Ambedkar Nagar.

Mayawati's former Vidhan Sabha seats Bilsi in Budaun has been taken out of served category while her another seat Harora has been scrapped and merged with Saharanpur Vidhan Sabha seat. Those who have reason to celebrate include the Congress Legislature Party leader Pramod Tiwari whose Rampur Khas Vidhan Sabha constituency would now not be transferred to Congress MP Sonia Gandhi's Rae Bareli Lok Sabha seat that would also see minor changes that include renaming of Maharajganj (reserved) as Bachhrawan now.

There would also be minor changes in the Lok Sabha constituency of Congress MP Rahul Gandhi that would now have Salon and Tiloi as new Vidhan Sabha constituencies. At the same time Isauli and Sultanpur Vidhan Sabha constituencies would now become part of Sultanpur Lok Sabha seat that the Delimitation Commission has decided to retain following strong protests from local people. The Delimitation Commission has given up the idea of creating Harchandpur as new Lok Sabha seat. Changes have been affected in the proposals for Baghpat, Ghaziabad and Meerut Lok Sabha seats. While Loni Vidhan Sabha seat would be in Ghaziabad, Hapur would be taken out of Ghaziabad and included in Meerut while Siwalkhas becomes part of Baghpat Lok Sabha seat. Rasra Vidhan Sabha seat goes from Ballia to Ghosi while Baria goes from Salempur to Ballia. Banthara Road has been taken away from Ghosi to be included in Salempur Lok Sabha seat.

According to officials the Delimitation Commission has made changes in the draft proposals of at least 70 Vidhan Sabha seats. Most of the changes have been made only to alter the area to merge the isolated areas in main constituency. Yet the Kaimganj that the UPCC President Salman Khurshid's wife Louis Khurshid represents in Vidhan Sabha has been reserved. Another significant change made is in the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat that was so far spread in Kannauj, Auraiya, Etawah and Kanpur Dehat districts. Kannauj MP Akhilesh Yadav may have Etawah as home district his constituency would no more remain connected to Etawah.

Significantly all the major political parties are making efforts to thwart attempts to implement recommendations the Delimitation Commission that may come into effect in the 2009 Lok Sabha poll. There is no possibility of implementing the recommendations in the forthcoming Vidhan Sabha poll in Uttar Pradesh.

Other major changes made in the draft proposals of Vidhan Sabha seats include the decision to retain the Sarojini Nagar seat instead of renaming it as Banthara. There were strong protests from the local people who insisted that the constituency named after Sarojini Naidu should not be renamed. Ward number 90 would be taken out from Lucknow Cantonment to Lucknow West Vidhan Sabha seat. Meerut Rural would be renamed as Meerut (South) while Ghaziabad would be called Murad Nagar now. Jalalabad constituency of Muzaffar Nagar would be renamed as Thana Bhawan. The Minister for Revenue Ambika Chaudhary's Kopachit constituency has been scrapped.

The Delimitation Commission has also decided to rename the proposed Kapilvastu seat of Sidharth Nagar as Shohartgarh while Naugarh (reserved) has been renamed Kapilvastu. The Ekauna seat has been renamed Shravasti while Piprahawa-Vishnupur seat of Balrampur has been renamed as Tulsipur. The proposed Tulsipur seat now becomes Gainsari. The Phaphamau seat of Allahabad has been taken out of reserved category while the Soraon seat of same district now becomes a reserve seat.

Prominent leaders affected

Jitin Prasad-Shahjahanpur Lok Sabha seat has been reserved.

Kalyan Singh-His Bulandshahar Lok Sabha seat has been reserved.

Mayawati-Akbarpur (reserve) Lok Sabha seat has been renamed as Ambedkar Nagar, taken out of reservation category. Bilsi Vidhan Sabha seat
taken out of reservation category. Harora Vidhan Sabah seat has been scrapped.

Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh-Balrampur Lok Sabha seat scrapped.

Minister for Agriculture Ashok Bajpai -Pihani Vidhan Sabha seat has been scrapped.

Minister for Social Welfare Awdhesh Prasad Sohawal Vidhan Sabha seat scrapped.

Atal Bihari Bajpai-Changes in Lucknow Lok Sabha seat.

Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi-Changes in Rae Bareli and Amethi Lok Sabha seats.

Naresh Agarwal-His home district’s Hardoi Lok Sabha seat has been taken out of reserved category.

Lok Sabha constituencies deleted

Balrampur, Khalilabad, Padrauna, Akbarpur (Ambedkar Nagar district), Saidpur, Ghatampur, Bilhaur, Jalesar, Khurja and Hapur.

Lok Sabha seats added

Ghaziabad, Gautam Budha Nagar, Fatehpur Sikri, Dharauhara, Akbarpur (in place of Ghatampur) Kaushambi, Shrawasti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Bhadohi and Ambedkar Nagar.

Email Umesh Raghuvanshi:

First Published: Dec 18, 2006 23:38 IST