MPs too vote carelessly

While a few MPs were careless in recording their vote for the presidential election, others deliberately invalidated them, reports Saroj Nagi.
HT Image
HT Image
Updated on Jul 22, 2007 02:08 AM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times | By Saroj Nagi, New Delhi

The effort by leaders to teach their MPs and MLAs to correctly mark the ballot paper in the presidential exercise did not work in some cases. While a few were careless in recording their vote, others deliberately invalidated them.

Saving grace

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat's resignation as Vice-President has saved him from the embarrassment of receiving and escorting Pratibha Patil to the Central Hall of Parliament for her oath-taking on July 25. His resignation notwithstanding, he will get his pension.

Unique feat

For the first time, an incumbent Vice-President has been defeated while contesting the President's post. S Radhakrishnan, Zakhir Hussain, R Venkatraman, Shankar Dayal Sharma and KR Narayanan, who were vice presidents, became presidents. Among the vice presidents who did not contest for the top post were GS Pathak, BD Jatti and Justice Hidayatullah.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, October 19, 2021