Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ntini wins SA cricket honour

Ntini is the first SA bowler to take 10 wickets in consecutive Tests against Australia and NZL.

india Updated: Oct 09, 2006 14:22 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

Fast bowler Makhaya Ntini was named among the five SA Cricket Annual's "Cricketers of the Year" for a record fifth time and presented the award at a function at Wanderers Club in Johannesburg on Tuesday.

South African spearhead Ntini is the first South African cricketer to take 10 wickets in consecutive matches against Australia and New Zealand respectively in Test cricket.

Other players honoured were fast bowler Dale Steyn, batsmen Hashim Amla, Ashwell Prince and wicket-keeper Mark Boucher.

Steyn was named for his aggressive fast bowling, adding an extra dimension to the South African attack after several seasons during which the national team has relied almost exclusively on Ntini and veterna Shaun Pollock.

Amla is one of the most outstanding newcomers in Test cricket, showing an ability to concentrate at length at the crease and a temperament to compliment his talent.

Prince became the country's eighth Test captain since unification and led the Proteas on the recent tour of Sri Lanka.

Wicket-keeper Mark Boucher passed Rod Marsh and Adam Gilchrist to become the second leading wicket-keeper in Tests, by taking his 356th dismissal against New Zealand. He also holds the record of being the fastest wicket-keeper to reach 100, 150 and 200 ODI catches following his phenomenal st art to the 2005/06 season.

SA Cricket Annual editor Colin Bryden said selecting only five players was particularly difficult because many other also had impressive performances during the year.

First Published: Oct 04, 2006 10:41 IST