Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 19, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Once a Left bastion, West Bengal’s Bishnupur is held by Trinamool

Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal goes to polls on May 12

lok sabha elections Updated: Mar 14, 2019 12:35 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
BishnupurLok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Bishnupur Profile,Maharashtra Bishnupur General Elections 2019
Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal goes to polls on May 12 (PTI file phot)

Bishnupur, once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), is parliamentary constituency number 37 in West Bengal’s Bankura district.

The then Trinamool Congress leader Saumitra Khan defeated Susmita Bauri of the CPI(M) on the seat reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Khan joined the BJP in January 2019 after being expelled for anti-party activities. The ruling party has chosen Shyamal Santra to contest from the seat in the Lok Sabha election 2019.

Read: All you need to know about West Bengal

People in Bishnupur, known for the Bishnupur gharana of Hindustani music, will vote on May 12 - the sixth of the seven-phased polls. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here are some facts about Bishnupur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: West Bengal

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Bishnupur

Sitting MP, Party: Saumitra Khan, Trinamool Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 149,685

Runner up name, party: Susmita Bauri, CPI(M)

Number of voters in 2014: 1,272,070

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 86.72 %

Number of women voters in 2014: 707,604

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,859

First Published: Mar 14, 2019 12:35 IST