New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 21, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2019

Lok Sabha election 2019: Gujarat’s Chhota Udaipur has elected only Rathwas

Chhota Udaipur has seen keen contests between the Congress and the BJP over last several Lok Sabha elections.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 16, 2019 14:01 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Ramsinh Rathwa is the two-time sitting MP from Chhota Udaipur Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.
Ramsinh Rathwa is the two-time sitting MP from Chhota Udaipur Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.

Chhota Udaipur is one of the 26 parliamentary constituencies in Gujarat. Reserved for the members of Scheduled Tribe community, Chhota Udaipur has elected only Rathwas since 1977 Lok Sabha election. Rathwas are a tribal group in Gujarat.

Two-time sitting MP Ramsinh Rathwa of the BJP defeated Naranbhai Rathwa of the Congress in 2014 at the Chhota Udaipur seat. The two have dominated this parliamentary seat in the last eight general elections.

Naranbhai Rathwa has won this seat five times – the last three as Congress candidate - while Ramsinh Rathwa was elected on the other three occasions.

With a strong agricultural economy, Chhota Udaipur is one of the most prosperous districts of Gujarat. It was carved out of the Vadodara district in 2013.

Seven assembly segments comprise the Chhota Udaipur Lok Sabha constituency. These assembly segments are, Chhota Udaipur, Halol, Dabhoi, Nandod, Sankheda, Jetpur and Padra. Four of these assembly seats are reserved for ST candidates.

Here’s all you need to know about the constituency

Name of constituency: Chhota Udaipur, Gujarat

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Rathva Gitaben Vajesingbhai (BJP), Rathva Furkanbhai Balajibhai (BSP) and Rathava Ranjitsinh Mohansinh (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Ramsinh Rathwa, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 1,79,729

Runner-up candidate’s name, party (2014): Naranbhai Jemalalbhai Rathwa, Indian National Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 1,101,623

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 68 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,979

Number of women voters: 5,07,350

First Published: Mar 14, 2019 15:08 IST

more from constituency watch