New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 23, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Aug 23, 2019

Election Results 2019: Vadodara seat remains key for BJP in Gujarat

PM Modi contested from Vadodara seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. He resigned from this seat and represented Varanasi in the Lok Sabha. 

constituency-watch Updated: May 23, 2019 14:51 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Election Results 2019 Vadodara : BJP’s Ranjanben Bhatt won the Vadodara Lok Sabha bypoll after PM Modi resigned from this seat in 2014.
Election Results 2019 Vadodara : BJP’s Ranjanben Bhatt won the Vadodara Lok Sabha bypoll after PM Modi resigned from this seat in 2014.(LSTV screengrab)

The Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency was one of the most high-profile parliamentary seats in 2014 general elections. Then Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi contested from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat as Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate.

Click here for Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

Click here for Election results 2019 Coverage

PM Modi had defeated Madhusudan Mistry of the Congress by a margin of over 5.70 lakh votes. It was the second seat from which PM Modi had filed nomination in 2014 Lok Sabha election. The other was Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, which he retained after winning from both the constituencies.

In the bypoll held after PM Modi vacated the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, BJP’s Ranjanben Bhatt won. The BJP had won this seat in 2009 Lok Sabha election also. For 2019, as well, Ranjanben Bhatt has taken a comfortable lead over opponents after the counting began.

Click here for full Lok Sabha elections 2019 Coverage

Vadodara parliamentary constituency comprises of seven Gujarat assembly segments. These are Savli, Vaghodia, Vadodara, Sayajigunj, Akota, Raopura and Manjalpur.

Vadodara is one of the most developed districts of Gujarat. It was the seat of governance of erstwhile Baroda princely state, which laid the foundation for development of the city on the modern lines.

Vadodara Lok Sabha Constituency: Key Facts

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Prashant Patel (Tiko) (Congress), Ranjanben Bhatt (BJP) and Rohit Madhusudan Mohanbhai (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Ranjanben Dhananjay Bhatt , BJP (won bypoll)

Name of runner-up candidate in 2014: Madhusudan Mistry , Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 5,70,128

Total number of voters in 2014: 1,162,168

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 80 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,591

Number of women voters: 5,36,532

First Published: Mar 14, 2019 10:31 IST

more from constituency watch