New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 21, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Oct 21, 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Gujarat’s Anand constituency is a Congress bastion that BJP won in 2014

The Congress has dominated Anand Lok Sabha constituency for decades. The BJP has won it twice in the last 20 years including 2014 polls.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 18, 2019 10:52 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Dilip Patel of the BJP won Anand Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 parliamentary polls.
Dilip Patel of the BJP won Anand Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 parliamentary polls.

Anand Lok Sabha seat is one of the 26 parliamentary seats in Gujarat, where polling will be held on April 23 in the third of the seven phases of the general elections. The BJP had won this seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls defeating the Congress.

Dilip Patel is the sitting MP from Anand. He defeated Bharatsinh Solanki of the Congress in 2014 in a closely contest fight. The victory margin for the BJP leader was around 63,000.

The Congress has dominated the parliamentary elections at Anand right from the beginning. The BJP won Anand Lok Sabha seat for the first time in 1989. But the Congress regained its support base and held the seat after that losing only twice to the BJP – in 1999 and 2014.

Known as the Milk Capital of India, Anand is one of the most prosperous districts of Gujarat. It is the parliamentary constituency number 16 in Gujarat. Here’s all you need to know:

Name of the constituency: Anand, Gujarat

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Patel Mitesh Rameshbhai (BJP), Bharatbhai Madhavsinh Solanki (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Dilip M Patel, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 63,426

Name of runner-up candidate: Bharatsinh Madhavsinh Solanki , Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 9,71,262

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 81 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,577

Number of women voters: 4,29,718

First Published: Mar 12, 2019 19:11 IST

top news