Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Kasaragod, Kerala

Updated on Mar 14, 2019 01:27 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Kasaragod, Kerala

An election commission official gives a demo of a VVPAT machine.(Rahul Raut/HT PHOTO)
An election commission official gives a demo of a VVPAT machine.(Rahul Raut/HT PHOTO)
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent

The Kasaragod parliamentary constituency, one of the parliamentary segments in Kerala, covers the entire district of Kasaragod. The town of Kasaragod is the municipality and the administrative seat of the Kasaragod district. Kasaragod is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

Kasaragod is one of the key strongholds of the CPI(M), although it regularly voted for the CPI in the initial years of 1957 and 1962.

Kasaragod was a part of the South Kanara Lok Sabha constituency of the Madras state. It South Kanara Lok Sabha seat ceased to exist during the implementation of the States Reorganisation Act of 1956, thereby giving birth to the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

Since 1967, the CPI(M) has ruled the constituency with the Congress winning three times from here.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPI(M)’s P Karunakaran defeated his closest contestant T Siddique of the Congress by a very tight margin of slightly less than 7,000 votes. The BJP candidate, K Surendran, came in third.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kasaragod

Sitting MP, Party: P Karunakaran, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 6921

Runner up name, party: T Siddique, INC

Number of voters in 2014: 975,195

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 76

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,093

Number of women voters: 514,678

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, November 27, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals