Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Thrissur, Kerala

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Mar 17, 2019 12:26 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Thrissur, Kerala.

Thrissur is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

Election Commission officials seal an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) .(AFP photo)
Election Commission officials seal an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) .(AFP photo)

Since the 1998 by-election, Thrissur has swung alternatively between the Congress and the CPI(M). But this time around, the BJP is hoping to wrest the seat away from both the Congress and the CPI(M) and has requested its NDA ally Bharat Dharma Jan Sena (BDJS) to field its party president Thushar Vellappaly from the seat. The NDA will be pinning its hopes on Thushar’s ability to swing a major chunk of the Ezhava votes towards the BJP.

Thrissur was one of the regions where the Sabarimala violence had flared up towards the end of 2018. The BJP will be expecting a major shift in vote share due to the political polarisation caused Sabarimala shrine issue to draw in the votes.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

Known for its swinging loyalty, Thrissur has been witness to the defeat of many political heavyweights including Congress leaders K Karunakaran, K Muraleedharan and CPI(M)’s VV Raghavan.

CPI’s CN Jayadevan is the sitting MP after he defeated Congress’s KP Dhanapalan by 38,227 votes.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Thrissur

Sitting MP, Party: C. N. Jayadevan, CPI

Winning margin in 2014: 38,227

Runner up name, party: K. P. Dhanapalan, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 920,667

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 61

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,094

Number of women voters: 4,86,303

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, September 21, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals