Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 18, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha elections results 2019: BJP set to sweep all seats, once again

Lok Sabha elections results 2019: The incumbent BJP is leading in initial trends for counting of votes in three Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, followed by AAP in those constituencies, officials said.

lok sabha elections Updated: May 23, 2019 11:42 IST
Ht Correspondent
Ht Correspondent
Press Trust of India
Lok Sabha Election Result 2019,Lok Sabha Election Results,India general election results
Cricketer-turned-BJP leader Gambhir was leading in East Delhi against Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely by a margin 18,632 votes.(Sanchit Khanna/HT PHOTO)

The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading the trends in all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, with the Congress trailing in second spot in five constituencies and the AAP in two seats, poll officials said.

Debutant Gautam Gambhir, Union minister Harsh Vardhan and sitting lawmaker Manoj Tiwari of the BJP were among early gainers.

Click here for Election results 2019 Coverage

Congress veteran Sheila Dikshit was on second spot behind Tiwari, trailing by 29,797 votes in North East Delhi while former MP J P Agarwal, pitted against Vardhan in Chandni Chowk constituency, was trailing by 8,764 votes.

Agarwal has alleged that strongrooms were opened in “absence” of his counting agents.

Sitting BJP MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma was leading against his Congress rival Mahabal Mishra by 37,387 votes in the West Delhi Lok Sabha seat, they said.

BJP candidates were also leading in New Delhi, South Delhi and North West Delhi parliamentary constituencies.

Cricketer-turned-BJP leader Gambhir was leading in East Delhi against Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely by a margin 18,632 votes.

Sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri was leading against his AAP rival Raghav Chadha by 30,755 votes in the South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, officials said.

Sitting New Delhi MP Meenakshi Lekhi was ahead of Congress’ Ajay Maken by a margin of 10,486 votes.

In North West Delhi, saffron party’s Hans Raj Hans was ahead of AAP’s Gagan Singh by 46,379 votes, they said.

AAP North East Delhi candidate Dilip Pandey told reporters that people to not make any judgement on the basis of initial trends, as “it will not be apt”.

Counting is underway for all seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi to decide the fate of 164 candidates, who contested the Lok Sabha elections here on May 12.

Over 1.43 crore people were eligible to vote in the polls in Delhi, out of which 60.21 per cent had exercised their franchise.

The elections for the seven parliamentary seats were largely a triangular contest among the incumbent BJP, a spirited Congress and the AAP - the ruling party in Delhi.

Prominent names who were in the fray include former Delhi chief minister Dikshit, Union Minister Vardhan and cricketer-turned-politician Gambhir.

Olympian boxer Vijender Singh (South Delhi), who made his electoral debut, and AAP’s Atishi are also among the candidates in Delhi.

While the BJP, which had won all seven seats in the 2014 polls, is keen to regain the turf, the Congress, that ended up at the third spot in the last Lok Sabha elections, is looking to bounce back.

First Published: May 23, 2019 10:11 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.