Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 13, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

‘I deserve it,’ Deepa Malik, Rio silver medallist, appeals for Khel Ratna

Deepa Malik won a shot-put silver medal in the 2016 Rio Games. She was the first Indian woman to win a medal at the Paralympics. Deepa Malik wants to get the Khel Ratna award this year

other sports Updated: Aug 18, 2017 16:41 IST
New Delhi
Deepa Malik,Khel Ratna,Paralympics
India's Deepa Malik gestures as she competes in the women's final shot-put F53 athletics event during the Paralympic Games at the Olympic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Sept. 12, 2016. Malik won the silver. (AP)

Ignored for this year’s Khel Ratna award, Rio Paralympics silver-medallist Deepa Malik and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar have requested the Sports Ministry to reconsider her case but the government is unlikely to accept their “appeal”.

The award selection panel has recommended javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, the gold medal winner at the 2016 Rio Paralympics, and former hockey captain Sardar Singh for Khel Ratna. (Read: A controversial nomination)

In a letter, dated August 16, Khattar wrote, “I am of the considered opinion that prestigious Khel Ratna award should be conferred on Deepa Malik. I therefore request to you to kindly consider her name for Khel Ratna.”

Deepa Malik’s appeal for the Khel Ratna has the backing of the Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar (HT Photo)

Deepa Malik, the first Indian woman athlete to win a medal at the Paralympics, wrote an e-mail to the Sports Minister Vijay Goel on August 7, making a similar appeal and also sought an appointment with him.

“I felt that there has been an oversight. Where’s the deficiency. Do I need to win one more medal in 2020 Games at the age of 50 to be given this award,” said Deepa Malik, dismissing suggestions that she was “lobbying” for the award.

“There is a precedence that Khel Ratna can be given to multiple people in an Olympic year. My medal came 15 days after the Khel Ratna was given on August 29, 2016 to the other winners. It’s a clear case of oversight.

Rio 2016 Paralympics medal winners Devendra Jhajharia (Gold in men's Javelin F46), Mariyappan Thangavelu (Gold in high jump T42), Deepa Malik (silver in women's shot-put F53) and Varun Singh Bhati (bronze in men's High jump T42) were felicitated by Sachin Tendulkar in Mumbai on October 3, 2016. (Pratik Chorge/HT PHOTO)

And I am not lobbying for it. Lobbying is when you try to influence people before the committee sits and decide. When I found my name is not there, then I wrote to the ministry, it’s an appeal.

“I have got the backing of my state CM. Haryana is a sports conscious state. He (CM) also felt that I have been overlooked,” Deepa Malik said.

One of the selection committee members said it was not possible to include all medal winners of the Rio Paralympics.

“Look, Mariyappan Thangavelu had also won gold in Rio but still not chosen for Khel Ratna, he was given Arjuna. For Jhajharia, it was his second Paralympics gold, we could not ignore him,” a member of the committee said on condition of anonymity.

The Sports Ministry is yet to approve the list of awardees but is unlikely to make any change.

“We want to stick to what the panel has recommended. We will make public the names of the award winners very soon,” said a Sports ministry official.

When the next edition of Paralympics is held, Deepa Malik’s shot-put event will not be a part of the roster in the F53 category. Discus throw will be the main discipline.

“So, do I need to learn discus throw to win another medal and be considered again? I had a spinal injury due to which I can’t rotate my lower body to throw a discus.

“That’s why I have always practised javelin throw and shot-put. I don’t have the torso balance and the muscles required to throw discus are not connected with my brain anymore,” she explained her predicament.

“Can a Vijender Singh or a Sushil Kumar now compete in swimming or gymnastics? I come from a disciplined military family. I have not broken ethics, it’s my democratic right to express my views and write to the country’s sports minister,” Deepa Mailk, winner of 18 international medals, said.

First Published: Aug 18, 2017 16:30 IST