Yogi Adityanath to contest UP Assembly polls from Gorakhpur; first BJP list out

Published on Jan 15, 2022 02:24 PM IST
Copy Link

Putting all speculations to rest, BJP today announced that Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be contesting his first Assembly election from his traditional bastion of Gorakhpur. Yogi's name was declared by BJP at a presser in New Delhi. This would be for the first time that Yogi will contest any Assembly election. Earlier, there were speculations that he might be fielded from Ayodhya. However the party said he will contest from Gorakhpur city. Yogi's deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya is contesting from an Assembly segment in Prayagraj. Apart from Yogi and Maurya, BJP released the names of 105 candidates for phase 1 and 2. Watch this video for more.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, January 26, 2022