Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 12, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: Once a Cong den, Pune in Maharashtra is now with the BJP

Here’s all you need to know about Pune Lok Sabha constituency.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 19, 2019 15:57 IST
Hindustan Times
Pune Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Pune Profile,Maharashtra General Elections 2019
Pune will vote on April 23.(Sakib Ali / Hindustan Times)

Riding on the Modi wave in 2014, BJP’s Anil Shirole won the Pune Lok Sabha constituency by a whopping margin of 3.15 lakh votes, wresting a constituency that was traditionally a Congress stronghold.

From Vitthalrao Gadgil to Suresh Kalamadi, Pune was once the bastion for the Congress party. The expulsion of Kalmadi, a three-time MP from Pune, and the NCP making inroads into suburban areas, has left the Congress relatively weaker.

Maharashtra’s 48 constituencies will vote to elect members to the Lok Sabha in four phases on April 11,18, 23 and 29.

Pune will vote on April 23.

ALSO READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here’s all you need to know about Pune Lok Sabha constituency:

State : Maharashtra

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Pune

Voting date: April 23

2019 candidates: Girish Bhalchandra Bapat( BJP), Mohan Joshi (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Anil Shirole, BJP

Winning margin: 315,769

Runner up name, party: Dr.Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam, Congress

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,891

Number of voters in 2014: 993,966

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 54%

Number of women voters: 459,588

First Published: Mar 20, 2019 18:42 IST