Today in New Delhi, India
May 23, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI website caught napping - Anurag Thakur is still Board president, Shirke secy

Anurag Thakur is still the president of the working committee and Ajay Shirke is the secretary of the BCCI even after the Supreme Court verdict on January 2, according to the Board’s website.

cricket Updated: Jan 03, 2017 14:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Anurag Thakur,Board of Control for Cricket in India,BCCI
Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke are still part of the BCCI working committee, according to the Indian Board’s website.(AFP)

The Supreme Court announced a landmark verdict on January 2 in which Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke were removed as president and secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). However, the official website of the Indian cricket board has either not heard or read about the verdict.

As per the website of the BCCI ( on Tuesday afternoon, Thakur and Shirke remain as the president and secretary, respectively, of the Board.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s website still has Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke as president and secretary of the Board. ( Hindustan Times )

On Monday, the Supreme Court sacked Thakur and Shirke for not implementing the reforms suggested by the Justice RM Lodha committee in July 2016. For failing to implement the reforms suggested, the BCCI will now have an observer, who will be appointed on January 19.

With the removal of Thakur and Shirke, the process of appointing the next BCCI president has begun. According to reports, Sourav Ganguly, who is the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, is fancied to become the next BCCI head.

The Lodha committee was appointed in January 2015 to look into the functioning of the BCCI and it was tasked with suggesting changes to its constitution.

First Published: Jan 03, 2017 13:14 IST