ICC U-19 World Cup: New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson named event ambassador

The International Cricket Council have appointed all-rounder Corey Anderson as the event ambassador for the U-19 World Cup that will be held in New Zealand from January 2018. Anderson was part of the team for the 2008 and 2010 editions.

cricket Updated: Oct 05, 2017 12:00 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
International Cricket Council,U-19 World Cup,ICC
Corey Anderson, who was part of the New Zealand team for the U-19 World Cup in the 2008 and 2010 editions, has been appointed as the event ambassador for the 2018 edition that will be held in New Zealand.(Getty Images)

The International Cricket Council announced that New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson has been named as the event ambassador of the upcoming under-19 World Cup that starts on January 13 next year.

The 16-team tournament will be held in New Zealand for the third time in history and will be played across four cities and seven venues.

“It is extremely exciting to be involved again in the U19 World Cup. I played two of them - it is the first stepping stone to playing international cricket. You go from playing domestic cricket to playing international cricket – it’s a big step but it’s a step that is necessary,” Anderson was quoted as saying in an ICC release.

“To have it in our backyard is great. We are going to see players who people may not know now but who in the years to come will become household names. In 2010, it was my first snippet of playing international cricket at home,” Anderson, who had been part of two under-19 World Cups (2008 in Malaysia and 2010 in New Zealand), further added.

Anderson made his debut back in 2012, Anderson has so far played 13 Tests, 49 ODIs and 29 T20Is. He burst on to the international stage when he broke Shahid Afridi’s 17-year record for the fastest century when he blasted a 36-ball ton against West Indies in Queenstown.

A number of current captains, including Virat Kohli, Sarfraz Ahmed, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and Joe Root, have taken part in the previous editions of the under-19 World Cup.

India and Australia are the most successful teams, having won the trophy thrice each, while Pakistan, West Indies and England were won it once each.

First Published: Oct 05, 2017 11:53 IST