New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 20, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019

Jhulan Goswami ruled out of India vs South Africa women’s T20 series due to injury

Jhulan Goswami, who suffered a heel injury, will not be a part of the Indian women’s cricket team for the remainder of their T20 series against South Africa.

cricket Updated: Feb 17, 2018 12:04 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
New Delhi
Jhulan Goswami will not take part in the last three India vs South Africa women’s T20 matches due to injury.
Jhulan Goswami will not take part in the last three India vs South Africa women’s T20 matches due to injury.(Action Images via Reuters)

Jhulan Goswami was ruled out of the Indian women’s cricket team’s remaining three T20 Internationals against South Africa after picking up a heel injury during the first match of the series in Kimberley.

The pacer, who became the first woman to take 200 wickets in ODI cricket, was unable to take part in the second ODI due to the injury and the BCCI decided to exclude her from the squad.

READ | Sachin Tendulkar announced as league ambassador for Twenty20 Mumbai League

She will be replaced by 34-year old year Rumeli Dhar who has taken 10 wickets in her 15 T20 matches.

The rest of the squad remains the same as India are leading 2-0 in the five-match series with comprehensive victories in the first two matches. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led side won the opening encounter by seven wickets and then followed it up with a comfortable nine-wicket win on Friday.

READ | Virat Kohli fires at media again, says ‘can’t live in dreamland, praise doesn’t matter to me’

The Indian women’s cricket team is enjoying a great run of form in South Africa and earlier, they were able to win the three-match ODI series 2-1. Smriti Mandhana was the best performer for the side as her two centuries paved the way for the historic victory for Mithali Raj’s team.

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia, Nuzhat Parveen, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Rumeli Dhar

First Published: Feb 17, 2018 11:14 IST

more from cricket