Tamil Nadu gears up for May 10 voting

Published on May 09, 2004 10:28 AM IST

The fate of 571 candidates would be decided on Monday as the voters would elect their leaders for 39 LS seats from Tamil Nadu.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Chennai

The fate of 571 candidates would be decided on Monday as nearly 4.72 crore voters would be ballotting to elect their representatives for 39 Lok Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu.

While the North Chennai constituency has the maximum number of over 20 lakh voters, Perambalur (Res) has the minimum number of 9.99 lakh voters.

The South Chennai constituency has the maximum number of contestants 35, while Pollachi and Perambalur (both Res) constituencies has seven candidates each.

The prominent personalities, who are in the fray include Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan (BJP Nagercoil), former union ministers, T R Baalu (DMK-south Madras), A K Moorthy (PMK-Chengalpattu), Ginjee Ramachandran (MDMK-Vandavasi), E Ponnusamy (PMK-Chidambaram), K V Thanga Balu (Cong-Salem), R Prabhu (Cong-Nilgiris), Dr Subramanian Swamy (Janata-Madurai), A Raja (DMK-Perambalur) Dhanushkodi Adhithan (ng-Tirunelveli), P Chidambaram (Cong- Sivaganga).

The State Chief electoral officer Mrutyunjay Sarangi has warned of stern action against those attempting impersonation during the polls. Such persons would be arrested immediately, he said.

Over 50,000 Electronic Voting Machines would be used for recording votes in 45,729 polling booths in the state.

As many as 13 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu, including three in the city, going to the polls in the last phase on Monday, have been identified as 'hypersensitive' constituencies, Sarangi said. 

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, February 09, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals