IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians, always in the hunt | ipl 2017 | Hindustan Times
  • Monday, Jul 16, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 16, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians, always in the hunt

Mumbai Indians are two-time Indian Premier League champions and remain among the top title contenders in every edition of the tournament

ipl 2017 Updated: Mar 28, 2017 17:43 IST
Mumbai Indians player Hardik Pandya with the team's head coach Mahela Jayawardene during a preparatory camp ahead of IPL 2017 at Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.
Mumbai Indians player Hardik Pandya with the team's head coach Mahela Jayawardene during a preparatory camp ahead of IPL 2017 at Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. (PTI)

Mumbai Indians are one of the most illustrious teams in the Indian Premier League having lifted the silverware twice in the history of the premier domestic Twenty20 competition.

The franchise was the most expensive team when it was assembled during the auctions at the league’s inception in 2008. The team, however, didn’t get off to a flying start and finished outside the top four in the first two seasons. It was only in the third edition that they played to their true potential with Sachin Tendulkar leading from the front. They topped the table in dominant fashion but lost in the final against Chennai Super Kings.

In 2011 they sealed a top-four berth but crashed out in the second qualifier against Royal Challengers Bangalore. However, there was some consolation, as their side exacted revenge over RCB by lifting the Champions League trophy in an all-Indian final that year.

Before the start of the 2012 season, the legendary Tendulkar stepped down from captaincy. They finished third on the table before crashing out in the eliminator against Chennai Super Kings.

They finally managed to lift the coveted title in 2013 before following it up with the Champions League trophy for a fine double that year. This was also the last time Tendulkar took part. After having crashed out in the eliminator stages in the 2014 season, with Rohit Sharma hitting top gear they won their second IPL title in 2015 defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final.

However, their dream run came to an abrupt end last season as they failed to make it to the semifinal stage.

In 2017, having retained 20 players in a pretty solid line-up, the franchise bought seven players in the auction – Mitchell Johnson, Karn Sharma, K Gowtham, Nicolas Pooran, Saurabh Tiwary, Asela Gunarathna and Kulwant Khejrollya.


Rohit Sharma – The hitman is the captain as well as the run machine of the Mumbai side. The batsman’s elegant strokeplay and quick reflexes can be trusted upon to lead his side to victory.

Kieron Pollard – The Trinidadian is a beast in the park who can easily turn a match on its head with his destructive batting, handy medium pace and acrobatic fielding.

Lasith Malinga – Known for his toe-crushing yorkers, the highest wicket-taker in IPL history, will be looking to add to his tally while restricting rival batsmen in the death overs.

Mitchell Johnson – With an ability to swing the ball both ways, ‘Midge’ returns to Mumbai after their successful 2013 season on the back of a fantastic outing in the Big Bash League.

Top honours


Winner: 2013, 2015

Runners up: 2012

Champions League

Winner: 2011, 2013


Rohit Sharma (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Mitchell Johnson, K Gowtham, Karn Sharma, Saurabh Tiwary, A Gunarathna, K Khejroliya, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, J Suchith, Hardik Pandya, Jos Buttler, Tim Southee, Jithesh Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Punia.