New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 23, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019: All about Gujarat’s Bhavnagar seat

Bhavnagar Lok Sabha seat is held by the BJP. The Congress is looking to snatch this parliamentary constituency from the ruling party.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 16, 2019 13:26 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
BJP MP from Bhavnagar Dr Bharati Shiyal had in 2014 defeated her Congress rival Pravin Rathod by over 2.95 lakh votes.
BJP MP from Bhavnagar Dr Bharati Shiyal had in 2014 defeated her Congress rival Pravin Rathod by over 2.95 lakh votes.

Bhavnagar Lok Sabha constituency goes to polls on April 23 along with rest of the parliamentary seats in Gujarat. The state has 26 Lok Sabha seats. Bhavnagar Lok Sabha constituency is located in the Saurashtra region of Gujarat.

In 2014, the BJP had won the Bhavnagar seat the Congress party in this fifth largest city of Gujarat. Dr Bharati Shiyal of the BJP is the sitting MP from Bhavnagar.

Shiyal had defeated Pravin Rathod of the Congress by a margin of over 2.95 lakh votes. The BJP and the Congress are again heading for a direct fight at Bhavnagar Lok Sabha seat when polling takes place next month.

Bhavnagar is the Lok Sabha constituency number 15 in the state and has seven assembly segments under it. Out of seven assembly constituencies comprising the Bhavnagar Lok Sabha seat, Gadhada is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Other six assembly segments under Bhavnagar Lok Sabha constituency are Talaja, Palitana, Bhavnagar Rural, Bhavnagar East, Bhavnagar West and Botad.

Name of constituency: Bhavnagar, Gujarat

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Patel Manharbhai Nagjibhai (Vasani) (Congress), Dr. Bharatiben Dhirubhai Shiyal (BJP) and Vijaykumar Ramabhai Makadiya (BSP) .

Sitting MP, Party: Dr Bharatiben Dhirubhai Shiyal, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 2,95,488

Runner up name, party: Indian National Congress

Name of runner-up candidate: Pravinbhai Jinabhai Rathod

Total number of voters in 2014: 9,17,402

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 77 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,720

Number of women voters: 3,97,877

First Published: Mar 12, 2019 18:09 IST

top news