New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 21, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress seeks hat-trick in Pathanamthitta, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Pathanamthitta, Kerala: Sitting Congress MP Anto Antony, who won the 2009 and 2014 elections, has been fielded again this time.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 20, 2019 18:00 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
District Election Officers conducting an awareness campaign ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.
District Election Officers conducting an awareness campaign ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.(Samir Jana / HT photo)

Pathanamthitta is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

Previously a fragmented constituency, Pathanamthitta was consolidated into one into a single Parliamentary constituency in the delimitation exercise of 2008.

In the two elections it has seen since delimitation, it has voted in Congress candidate Anto Antony. In the 2014 elections, he defeated Independent candidate Peelipose Thomas by a margin of 56,191 votes.

In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Congress, looking for a hat-trick, has fielded sitting MP Anto Antony.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Pathanamthitta

Contesting Candidates: Anto Antony (Congress), Veena George (CPI-M), K Surendran (BJP)

Polling Date: April 23 (Phase 3)

Sitting MP, Party: Anto Antony, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 56,191

Runner up name, party: Peelipose Thomas, Independent

Number of voters in 2014: 871,251

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 83

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,205

Number of women voters: 443,681

First Published: Mar 20, 2019 13:18 IST

top news