New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 14, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Oct 14, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Karakat constituency, Bihar

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency profile: Karakat , Bihar

lok-sabha-elections Updated: May 15, 2019 16:53 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency profile: Karakat , Bihar
Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency profile: Karakat , Bihar(Hindustan Times)

Karakat in Bihar’s Rohtas district is held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party.

Upendra Kushwaha won the general seat after defeating the Rashtriya Janata Dal’s (RJD’s) Kanti Singh. Mahabali Singh of the Janata Dal (United) won from the seat in 2009, a year after it was formed as a part of the implementation of delimitation of parliamentary constituencies.

State: Bihar

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Karakat

Date of voting: May 19

2019 candidates: Mahabali Singh (JD-U) , Upendra Kushwaha, RLSP

Sitting MP, Party: Upendra Kushwaha, RLSP

Winning margin in 2014: 105,241

Runner up name, party: Kanti Singh, RJD

Number of voters in 2014: 789,927

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 50.31%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,607

Number of women voters: 724,282

First Published: Mar 13, 2019 16:45 IST

top news