Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Shiv Sena wins two seats in Maharashtra legislative council polls, despite tussle with BJP

Major setback for the Congress, which did not win a single seat.

mumbai Updated: May 25, 2018 10:36 IST
Surendra P Gangan
Surendra P Gangan
Hindustan Times
Shiv Sena,Maharashtra legislative council elections,BJP
(HT File Photo)

Results for five state legislative council seats were declared on Thursday. Shiv Sena won two seats, despite its strained relations with alliance partner, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP won two seats in Vidarbha and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) retained the Konkan seat. The Congress did not register any wins.

The polls are a major boost for the Shiv Sena, which has improved its tally from 9 to 11 in the 78-member House.

The results
  • Nashik: Shiv Sena’s Narendra Darade defeats NCP’s Shivaji Sahane by 193 votes.
  • Konkan: NCP leader Sunil Tatkare’s son Aniket wins by 200 votes, bagging 421 votes against Shiv Sena’s Rajiv Sable who polled 221 votes. Sena had a sizeable 293 votes of its corporators in local bodies in three districts.
  • Parbhani-Hingoli: Viplav Bajoria of Shiv Sena defeats Suresh Deshmukh of Congress by 35 votes.
  • Amravati: Minister of state and BJP leader Pravin Pote Patil wins by 441 votes. He polled 458 votes, while Congress Anil Madhogariya could bag only 17 votes.
  • Wardha-Chandrapur-Gadchiroli : BJP’s Ramdas Ambatkar wins by 88 votes. He polled 550 votes while Congress’ Indrakumar Saraf polled 462 votes.
  • Counting for Osmanabad-Beed-Latur constituency deferred by the Election Commission of India.

Counting for the five council seats was held in the respective districts from which the legislators were being elected on Thursday morning.

The Election Commission of India postponed the counting of seats for Osmanabad-Beed-Latur constituency, the sixth seat, after parties moved court against the disqualification of some corporators.

The BJP and the NCP have locked horns in this constituency, making it a prestige battle, with the Munde cousins — women and child welfare minister Pankaja Munde and leader of Opposition in Upper House Dhananjay Munde — gunning for their respective candidates. The Munde cousins are political rivals in the Marathwada region.

The biennial elections for the six seats of the Upper House were held on Monday for which members of local bodies in 13 districts are casting votes.

Judging from the developments in the Palghar Lok Sabha bypolls, scheduled for May 28, relations between the Shiv Sena and BJP seem strained. For the first time, the Sena has fielded a candidate for a seat held by its ally, weakening the prospects of BJP’s Rajendra Gavit. The Sena candidate is Shrinivas Wanga, son of the late MP Chintaman Wanga, who had defected from the BJP.

Reacting to this decision, BJP corporators in Nashik reportedly voted for the NCP candidate, Shivaji Sahane, while in the Konkan (Raigad-Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg) constituency, they supported the NCP’s Aniket Tatkare Though the Sena won the Nashik seat, it lost the Konkan seat by a large margin. However, the Sena wrested the Parbhani-Hingoli seat from the Congress.

Pravin Pote-Patil, BJP leader and minister of state for public works, won from the Amravati local bodies, while his colleague Ramdas Ambatkar defeated the Congress’ Indrakumar Saraf from Wardha-Chandrapur-Gadchiroli constituency.

The state council polls have been a major setback for the Congress because the part has not won a single seat. “It’s an unexpected defeat for us. We were expecting to win at least the Parbhani-Hingoli seat owing to our majority in the local bodies,” said a state Congress leader, requesting anonymity.

First Published: May 24, 2018 13:15 IST