MS Dhoni highest individual taxpayer in Jharkhand for 2017-18

MS Dhoni became the highest individual taxpayer in Jharkhand for 2017-18 after he was paid Rs 12.17 crore in the financial year.
MS Dhoni reportedly paid Rs 12.17 crore as income tax in 2017-18.(AFP)
MS Dhoni reportedly paid Rs 12.17 crore as income tax in 2017-18.(AFP)
Updated on Jul 23, 2018 07:08 PM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times, New Delhi/Ranchi | By HT Correspondent

Cricketer and former India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been the highest taxpaying individual in Jharkhand for the financial year of 2017-18. The Indian wicket-keeper batsman paid Rs 12.17 crore income tax last fiscal, Rs 1.24 crore higher than the 2016-17, income tax official said on Monday.

“Dhoni had paid Rs 10.93 crore as income tax in 2016-17 but he was not the highest taxpayer in that fiscal,” said chief commissioner of Income Tax, Jharkhand region, V Mahalingam.

READ | MS Dhoni creates history during India’s third T20 against England in Bristol

He, however, refrained from disclosing the name of highest individual tax payer in 2016-17.

MS Dhoni did not enjoy a good run of form in the limited-overs series against England with just 32 runs in the 3 T20 matches and 79 runs from the 3 ODIs. The former skipper was criticised for his slow batting and with India losing the series 2-1, questions were raised once again on his future in cricket.

MS Dhoni’s future once again became fodder for speculation after he sought the match ball at the end of the lost third ODI against England in Headingley, but coach Ravi Shastri quashed any such rumours.

There was some good news for MS Dhoni as he became the first wicket-keeper to take five catches in a T20 International when he achieved the feat against England in Bristol. The Indian cricket team veteran also became the second ever wicket-keeper to complete five dismissals in a T20 International match after Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad against Oman in 2015.

MS Dhoni is also leading the charts when it comes to the total number of dismissals completed by wicket-keepers in the shortest format of the game. The 37-year old has 87 dismissals from 93 matches and he is way ahead of Pakistan’s Kamran Akmal who has 60 dismissals from 58 T20 Internationals.

(with inputs from Sanjoy Dey)

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, October 27, 2021