New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 18, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Oct 18, 2019

Bihar trust vote highlights: Nitish Kumar wins floor test in assembly

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar had resigned on Wednesday, dumping RJD over corruption charges against his deputy Tejashwi Yadav, and joined hands with the BJP to form a new government.

india Updated: Jul 28, 2017 14:17 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar outside the legislative assembly after winning the trust vote.
Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar outside the legislative assembly after winning the trust vote.(HT Photo)

The Nitish Kumar government on Friday won the crucial confidence vote in the Bihar Assembly.

The ruling coalition of the JD(U), BJP and others got 131 votes while the opposition got 108 votes, speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhury said.

Kumar was sworn in as the Bihar chief minister for the sixth time on Thursday, barely 18 hours after his surprise resignation.

Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi, who was admitted to the hospital on Wednesday as the political drama played out in Patna, returned to the Raj Bhawan late in the night and administered the oath of office to Kumar at 10am.

His surprise resignation sank the three-party “grand alliance” of his Janata Dal (United), Lalu Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress that defeated the BJP in the 2015 state elections.


1.45pm: Happy that govt led by Nitish Kumar has won vote of confidence, we will sit down soon to discuss about the cabinet: Bihar deputy CM Sushil Modi.

1.20pm: Asked several questions in assembly today, but BJP and Nitish Kumar had no answers to them: Tejashwi Yadav.

1.15pm: BJP and chief minister Nitish Kumar have insulted the mandate given by the people of Bihar, Tejashwi Yadav says after the floor test.

1.10pm: RJD walks out of assembly after trust vote.

1pm: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar floor test. Nitish wins 131 votes, 108 against.

12.50pm: Bihar trust vote to be decided by division of votes. Speaker had asked for a voice vote, but RJD opposed it.

12.45pm: Secularism should not be used to justify corruption. Won’t support people who make money using wrong means: Nitish Kumar.

12.37pm: People were feeling the stress of mismatch under the GA government, says the chief minister

12.35pm: My decision to quit is in Bihar interest. Mandate was not to serve one family but to serve the people, says Nitish Kumar.

12.34pm:The chief minister says the Congress would not have got 15 seats. “I allocated them 40.”

12.33pm: “Will give point by point rebuttal of every allegations against me,” says Nitish Kumar.

12.30pm: Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar begins address at the assembly.

12.25pm: BJP’s Sushil Modi says he is speaking in the assembly after four years. “I have got here because of RJD and Cong, as resignation did not come,” says Sushil Modi.

12.18pm: Sadanand Singh of the Congress says everything happened in Bihar in an organised way. “It was not expected of Nitish, what will happen to people’s mandate to stop BJP in Bihar,” he says.

12.12pm: Speaker Vijay Kumar Choudhary says Nitish Kumar has been recognised as leader of the House.

12.11pm: UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath and some BJP leaders have serious cases registered against them, Nitish ji will you ask all of them to resign?, RJD leader Tejashwi says.

12.09pm: Nitish ji never spoke to me about my resignation, I too was thinking that he does not want me to resign, says Tejashwi Yadav

12.04pm: BJP’s Nand Kishore Yadav says RJD MLAs are good people. “They are my brothers and many in contact with us,” Nand Kishore says.

12.02pm: Nitish Kumar moves confidence motion in Bihar Assembly.

12.01pm: If Lalu Prasad didn’t have ‘putra moh’, Abdul Bari Siddiqui would have been Bihar deputy chief minister: BJP’s Nand Kishore Yadav .

11.58am: RJD’s Abdul Bari Siddiqui says if he becomes CM, Nand Kishore Yadav will be his deputy.

11.56am: Nitish Kumar should feel ashamed that he is sitting near Sushil Modi, says Tejashwi Yadav during floor test.

11.47am: We did not put any pressure on the chief minister ever: Tejashwi Yadav.

11.45am: Everything was completely planned; the way Nitish Kumar gave resignation is saddening, says Tejashwi Yadav.


11.30am: Bihar Assembly Speaker bars live broadcast of trust vote.

11.20am: RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav says in the assembly “People of Bihar have suffered immensely”.

11.10am: Patna HC to hear RJD’s plea against new Nitish Kumar government on Monday.

11am: Assembly session begins. Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav starts proceedings.


10.40am: RJD MLAs protest outside the Bihar assembly ahead of Nitish Kumar’s floor test.

10.30am: CM Nitish Kumar reaches Bihar assembly ahead of the floor test, reports ANI News.

10.10am: Tejashwi Yadav, who led a protest march to the Raj Bhawan after midnight, threatened protests across the state against Kumar on Friday, saying he “will find it difficult to move around”.

“My performance perturbed our ally and BJP. Vendetta against me exposes their viciousness”, Yadav said in a tweet.

10am: In the 243-member Assembly, Nitish Kumar needs the support of 122 members for a majority. The Chief Minister’s party has 71 legislators, the BJP 53. BJP allies have 5 seats — Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP has 2 seats, RLSP has 2 seats and HAM has 1. There are 4 Independents and 4 CPI-ML lawmakers. Between them, the RJD and Congress have 107 seats.

9.30am: The trust vote will be held in the Bihar legislative assembly at 11am. If the situation demands, the Speaker could go for a secret ballot.

9.15am: CM well get a full majority today. Politics is about serving people, it’s not a medium to collect money or property, says JD(U) leader Neeraj Kumar told ANI news.

9am: The RJD feels being the single largest party, with 80 legislators, the governor should have given it a chance rather than asking Kumar to prove his majority on the floor of the House.

First Published: Jul 28, 2017 09:25 IST

top news