Bypoll results 2022: List of winners from Lok Sabha, state assembly seats | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Bypoll results 2022: List of winners from Lok Sabha, state assembly seats

By, New Delhi
Jun 26, 2022 06:04 PM IST

The counting of votes was held across six states, including three Lok Sabha seats and 7 Assembly constituencies.

A total of three Lok Sabha seats and seven assembly constituencies went to polls on Sunday, necessitated over various reasons in the past year. The counting of votes started at 8am for the Lok Sabha seats of Punjab's Sangrur and Uttar Pradesh's Rampur and Azamgarh, and for assembly seats across Tripura, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh and Delhi.

The counting of votes in three Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats were held on Sunday.(Hindustan Times)
The counting of votes in three Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats were held on Sunday.(Hindustan Times)

While the AAP made a monumental win in Delhi's Rajinder Nagar bypoll, which was left vacant by Raghav Chadha for his Rajya Sabha debut, the party lost face in the Lok Sabha bypoll in Punjab.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

In a huge setback at a time when Bhagwant Mann-led government has been facing the opposition's wrath over the law and order situation in the state, Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) president and Khalistan ideologue Simranjit Singh Mann has defeated ruling party candidate Gurmail Singh from Sangrur.

In Tripura, the BJP won three out of four bypoll seats. Chief minister Manik Saha won his home seat from Town Bardowali, securing his chief ministerial rank, while the Congress won the Agartala bypoll, making a return to the assembly after years.

In Jharkhand, the Congress won against the BJP. Meanwhile, in Andhra Pradesh, the Jagan Reddy-led YSRCP has won the Atmakar assembly seat.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP won both the seats. In Azamgarh, BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahua beat his nearest rival Dharmendra Yadav of Samajwadi Party. Meanwhile, in Rampur, BJP claimed victory as party candidate Ghanshyam Lodhi defeated SP's Asim Raja by a margin of over 42,000 votes.

Here are the list of winners/leading candidates across the bypolls:

List of winners in Lok Sabha bypolls:

Bypoll seatWinnerLoserWinning party
Sangrur (Punjab)Simranjit Singh MannGurmail Singh (AAP)Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)
Azamgarh (Uttar Pradesh)Dinesh Lal YadavDharmendra Yadav (SP)BJP
Rampur (Uttar Pradesh)Ghanshyam Singh LodhiMohd. Asim Raja (SP)BJP

List of winners in Assembly bypolls:

Bypoll seatWinnerLoserWinning party
Atmakur (Andhra Pradesh)Mekapati Vikram ReddyBharath Kumar Gundlapalli (BJP)YSRCP
Mandar (Jharkhand)Shilpi Neha TirkeyGangotri Kujur (BJP)Congress
Rajinder Nagar (Delhi NCT)Durgesh PathakRajesh Bhatia (BJP)Aam Aadmi Party
AgartalaSudip Roy BarmanAshok Sinha (BJP)Congress
JubarajnagarMalina DebnathSailendra Chandra Nath (CPI-M)BJP
SurmaSwapna DasBaburam Satnami (IND)BJP
Town BardowaliManik SahaAsish Kumar Saha (Congress)BJP
Tell us what your First Vote will stand for in a short video & get a chance to be featured on HT’s social media handles. Click here to know more!

Get Current Updates on India News, Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live, Election 2024 Date, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, May 23, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On