BSP-SP alliance dents BJP in Uttar Pradesh, say exit polls, but disagree on numbers

Hindustan Times, New Delhi/Lucknow | ByHT Correspondent
May 20, 2019 07:47 PM IST

All eyes are on UP as the countdown begins for Lok Sabha 2019 election results on May 23rd, Thursday next, with the state sending 80 of 543 elected MPs to the lower house of Parliament

Exit polls differ widely on their projections for Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, aligned only in predicting that the tally of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance’s tally will come down from the spectacular 73 of 80 seats five years ago.

Exit poll projections show SP-BSP coalition gaining seats in Uttar Pradesh(ANI Photo)
Exit poll projections show SP-BSP coalition gaining seats in Uttar Pradesh(ANI Photo)

A survey by Times Now-VMR shows the NDA winning 58 seats in the state, with the Congress-led UPA winning two. It shows others - which includes the ambitious alliance between Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party and Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party - getting 20 seats.

But the ABP-AC Nielsen exit poll predicts the opposite; 22 for the BJP and allies and 56 for the others, which includes the BSP-SP alliance. This survey too predicts a bleak 2 for the Congress, equal to the party’s tally in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Here are the highlights of exit polls

Republic TV-C Voter projects that the NDA tally will come down to 38, the gathbandhan (BSP-SP-RLD) will get 40 seats and the UPA 2 seats.

Yet another exit poll, by Republic-Jan ki Baat, gives seats in the range of 46-57 to NDA, UPA 2-4 and Others 21-32.

 Watch: Live analysis of Exit Polls 2019

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, September 22, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals