New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Nov 14, 2019-Thursday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019

Mahona, Sarojininagar may no more be constituencies

IF THE preliminary draft report of the Delimitation Commission were implemented without any amendment, Ayodhya and Hastinapur would no longer be on the electoral map of UP.

india Updated: Jan 11, 2006 00:47 IST

IF THE preliminary draft report of the Delimitation Commission were implemented without any amendment, Ayodhya and Hastinapur would no longer be on the electoral map of UP.

Besides limiting number of reserved constituencies from 89 to 85, the Delimitation Commission in its preliminary draft proposes to rename and alter areas of a number of Vidhan Sabha constituencies.

As Ayodhya and Hastinapur find their origin in the Ramayana and the Mahabharat respectively, the renaming is bound to evoke sharp reactions.

Demonstrations had already been held in Meerut against renaming of Hastinapur, said  Rashtriya Lok Dal MLA from Barnawa (Baghpat) Samar Pal Singh, who happens to be one of the 10 associate members of the Delimitation Commission.

More such agitations can not be ruled out in the days to come. According to Bharatiya Janata Party MLA from Ayodhya Lalloo Singh Chauhan, the party has convened a meeting of its units situated in different regions to receive representations from partymen about proposed additions, alterations and renaming of constituencies and hear their points of view. Besides State BJP president Keshari Nath Tripathi, BJP national vice-president Kalyan Singh and others would attend the meeting, he said. A representation would be made against this, he said, adding, Ayodhya would now become a part of Faizabad Vidhan Sabha constituency.

Significantly, these are not the only two constituencies that would become a part of history. In Lucknow, Mahona and Sarojininagar would also not be there.

While Mahona would be included in the new Baxi-ka-Talab constituency, Sarojininagar would find its place in Banthara constituency. Barnawa and Khekhra of Baghpat would no more be there in the list of constituencies along with Chandauli.

A number of new names like NOIDA in Gautam Budha Nagar, Rampur Maniharana in Saharanpur, Shaulana, Loni and Sahibabad in Ghaziabad would emerge on the list of Vidhan Sabha constituencies. As per reports, the leaders whose constituencies would no more be there, include ministers of State Government and leaders of political parties. As a result, a flurry of activity is being witnessed over the issue with ministers, legislators and others having any political stake, making a beeline to the State Election Office or the associated members of the delimitation commission to know the status of their area. Many of them were keen to know whether proposed delimitation of seats would come into effect in coming the Vidhan Sabha polls.

Senior officers, however, discounted such fears asserting that the delimitation come into effect only after the Vidhan Sabha polls. There were also complaints from some areas with leaders asserting that a part of their tehsil had not been included in any of the constituency. A number of visitors could be seen making a request to see revised maps of their respective constituencies.

As per the Delimitation Commission’s preliminary draft report that would be discussed at a meeting scheduled to tale place at New Delhi on January 24, 2006, out of 70 districts 23 would be affected in the current delimitation exercise. Total number of constituencies would either come down or would go up in the affected 23 districts. Among districts that would lose one constituency include Baghpat, Bulandshahar, Hathras, Etah, Mainpuri, Budaun, Hardoi, Unnao, Etawah, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Barabanki, Bahraich, Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Ballia and Jaunpur. On the other hand, the districts to be benefited in terms of number of constituencies include Ghaziabad that would have three more constituencies while Sravasti and Sone Bhadra would have two more constituencies each.

At the same time, districts where one constituency would be added include Bijnor, Rampur, Jyoti Ba Phule Nagar, Gautam Budha Nagar, Firozabad, Kheri, Lucknow, Allahabad, Kushi Nagar and Varanasi. Allahabad would have highest number of 12 constituencies in proposed arrangement.