Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 20, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Voters in Jharkhand’s Singhbhum don’t elect the same candidate twice

Polling in Jharkhand will be held in four phases from April 29 to May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

constituency watch Updated:
New Delhi
Singhbhum Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Singhbhum Profile,Jharkhand General Elections 2019
Silli: Voters show their identity cards as they wait in a queue to cast their votes for Silli Assembly bypolls, at a polling station, in Silli on Monday. PTI Photo (PTI5_28_2018_000179B)(PTI)

The Singhbhum parliamentary constituency covers the West Singhbhum district, one of the most backward regions in Jharkhand, and a part of Seraikella-Kharsawan district of the eastern state.

The Lok Sabha seat is reserved for members of Schedule Tribe and comprises Seraikela, Chaibasa, Majhgaon, Jaganathpur, Manoharpur and Chakaradharpur assembly segments. The Seraikela assembly segment with 431 polling booths is considered as the most important and out of 12.47 lakh total voters in Singhbhum around 3.15 lakh are here.

Voters in the predominantly tribal Singhbhum constituency have not elected the sitting parliamentarian twice in any Lok Sabha election in the past three decades. Bagun Sumbrui, who died last year, was the only exception. Since 1996, the seat has been mostly with the Bharatiya Janata Party or Congress with Madhu Koda elected as an Independent candidate in 2009.

Polling in Jharkhand will be held in four phases from April 29 to May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here are a few details about the Singhbhum Lok Sabha seat:

State: Jharkhand

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Singhbhum

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Laxman Gilua (BJP), Geeta Koda (Congress)

Sitting MP, party: Laxman Gilua, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 87,524

Runner up name, party: Geeta Koda, JBSP

Number of voters in 2014: 795,286

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 69.00%

Number of women voters in 2014: 569,126

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,356

First Published: