Meet the Pravasi Samman winners
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Meet the Pravasi Samman winners

President Kalam honoured 15 NRIs and PIOs with Pravasi Bharatiya Samman on the concluding day of the conclave.

india Updated: Jan 09, 2006 19:53 IST

Prominent Indian-American physician,Sudhir Parikh, Indian-origin agriculturalist Eliyahu Bezalel from Israel, Mauritius Vice President Raouf Bundhun and Newsweek International magazine Editor Fareed Zakaria are among the 15 NRIs and PIOs honoured with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman 2006.

President APJ Abdul Kalam presented the award on Monday evening at the valedictory function of the three-day conclave here.Two of the 15 recipients were absent during the award ceremony.

The other recipients include Manila-based chief of the International Institute of Rural Reconstruction Dr Pratima Kale, Thailand-based businessman Shivnath R Bajaj, Qatar-based businessman and social activist CK Menon, executive chairman of the Demerara Distillers Group (DDL) of Guyana Yesu Persaud.

Sisupal R from South Africa, Niranjan S Shah from United States of America, Rusy M Shroff from Hong Kong were also to be honoured.

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards have been instituted to recognize and reward the meritorious contributions made by NRIs and PIOs to further India's interests and causes.

Instituted by the Government of India, the honour is given annually to eminent NRIs and Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) for their meritorious contribution in different walks of life.

The nominations for the awardwere invited from countries where there are sizeable number of NRIs and PIOs.

First Published: Jan 09, 2006 08:53 IST