Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 21, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chancellor appoints 3 more VCs for Bihar universities

The appointments of new vice chancellors for Magadh University, Lalit Narayan Mithila University and Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University were made soon after chief minister Nitish Kumar and education minister Ashok Choudhary met chancellor Ram Nath kovind on Monday evening.

patna Updated: Mar 21, 2017 10:53 IST
Arun Kumar
Arun Kumar
Hindustan Times, Patna
Chancellor,Bihar universities,Ram Nath Kovind
Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind, who is also the chancellor of state universities. (Santosh Kumar/HT file photo)

Governor and chancellor of Bihar universities Ram Nath Kovind has appointed vice chancellors of three more universities in the state.

The appointments were made soon after chief minister Nitish Kumar and education minister Ashok Choudhary met the chancellor for consultation on Monday evening.

Qamar Ahsan, at present vice chancellor of Sido Kanhu Murmu University, Dumka (Jharkhand) has been given the charge of Bodh Gaya-based Magadh University. His term in Sido Kanhu Murmu University is to end in April.

Ahsan had earlier served as VC of Mazharul Haque Arabic and Persian University, Patna. His parent organisation is AN College, Patna, a premier college under Magadh University.

S K Singh of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) has been appointed vice chancellor of Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga. At present, Singh is chief proctor at BHU and professor and dean, faculty of management studies.

Nalini Kant Jha has been made VC of Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University. He is professor and director, Southern Asia Studies, School of Social Sciences & International Studies, Pondicherry University, Puducherry.

With these appointments, six of the 10 universities in the state will now have regular vice chancellors.

The chancellor had earlier appointed VCs for Veer Kuer Singh University (Ara), JP University (Chapra) and BRA Bihar University (Muzaffarpur).

First Published: Mar 21, 2017 10:53 IST