New Delhi330C
Saturday, July 20, 2024

World Cup 2023

The 50-over Cricket World Cup remains the biggest prize in the sport, and it marks its return after 4 long years away. Some teams have changed drastically in that time, while others continue to follow the formula which worked an entire World Cup cycle ago. Four other major ICC trophies have been awarded in the duration since the previous ODI World Cup, but when it returns this October, it will be the biggest draw of all.

India are once again hosts, for the fourth time. They will also enter the tournament as favourites — going back to the 2011 World Cup, every edition has been won by the country hosting. India always has high expectation on its back, but this will be doubly the case at a home World Cup. Anything except a win won't be enough, as the time since India's last ICC trophy grows longer every year.

In their way stand the defending champions England, who even 4 years later are perhaps the finest white-ball team in the world. They will miss the relentless pace and accuracy of Jofra Archer, but their destructive power and core of the 2019 team remains intact under new captain Jos Buttler. Their opponents from that famous 2019 final, however, are much-changed. New Zealand battled disappointment against losing to a boundary count and lifted their first major ICC trophy, and have added exciting batting talent in Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips. The compromise reached with Trent Boult will mean they have experience leading their bowling as well.

Australia can never be written off in a World Cup as the five-time champions and possessing a vast array of tools at their disposal. The coming months will be important as they figure out how to arrange them, with Mitchell Marsh and Travis Head recently opening the batting and doing phenomenally in Indian conditions. If they figure out a formula, they might be tough to stop.

Pakistan’s white ball ability is at an all-time peak, but their talent will need to deliver. Babar Azam leads a very capable batting group and a phenomenal bowling attack, and Pakistan will have no excuses for underperforming at a tournament with conditions favourable to them. The allure of a first World Cup title in 30 years will be equal parts pressurizing and incentivizing.

South Africa, a fixture of World Cup knockouts for the longest time, had a torrid time in England in 2019, and are in something of a rebuild themselves. The coming months are important for them to fill up the gaps in their team, but they will rely on the brutal pace of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Marco Jansen to carry their hopes to silverware.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan occupy a similar sort of location in this tournament: they have chances to beat their opponents because of their expertise in subcontinental conditions, and will always be a threat to steal away some games here and there with a magical spell by Rashid Khan or a stoic innings from Shakib Al-Hasan. Afghanistan in particular are ones to watch: after 9 losses from 9 in the 2019 World Cup, they are fighting for pride and have only grown as a cricketing nation. From match to match, both these teams can be as dangerous as any.

The last two spots at the World Cup will be taken up by qualifiers, currently battling it out amongst each other for a chance at World Cup glory. Sri Lanka look set to earn their spot, keeping their streak alive, but West Indies stand at risk of missing their first ever World Cup following losses to Zimbabwe and the Netherlands, both of whom are in prime position to battle it out for that final spot.

…read more

World Cup Points Table - 2023

PosTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNRPointsNRRSeries Form
2SOUTH AFRICASouth Africa9720014+1.261
4NEW ZEALANDNew Zealand9540010+0.743

World Cup 2023 Highest Score - Stats

PlayersTeamsHSVSBFSRTSMatch Date
AUS201*AFG128157.03293Nov 07, 2023
AUS177*BAN132134.09307Nov 11, 2023
SA174BAN140124.28382Oct 24, 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup Squads

  • AFG
    Hashmatullah Shahidi
    Hashmatullah ShahidiCaptain
    Ibrahim Zadran
    Ibrahim ZadranBatsman
    Najibullah Zadran
    Najibullah ZadranBatsman
    Rahmat Shah
    Rahmat ShahBatsman
  • AUS
    Pat Cummins
    Pat CumminsCaptain
    David Warner
    David WarnerBatsman
    Marnus Labuschagne
    Marnus LabuschagneBatsman
    Steven Smith
    Steven SmithBatsman
  • BAN
    Najmul Hossain Shanto
    Najmul Hossain ShantoBatsman
    Tanzid Hasan
    Tanzid HasanBatsman
    Towhid Hridoy
    Towhid HridoyBatsman
    Mahedi Hasan
    Mahedi HasanAll-Rounder
  • ENG
    Jos Buttler
    Jos ButtlerCaptain
    Ben Stokes
    Ben StokesBatsman
    Dawid Malan
    Dawid MalanBatsman
    Harry Brook
    Harry BrookBatsman
  • IND
    Rohit Sharma
    Rohit SharmaCaptain
    Shreyas Iyer
    Shreyas IyerBatsman
    Shubman Gill
    Shubman GillBatsman
    Suryakumar Yadav
    Suryakumar YadavBatsman
  • NED
    Scott Edwards
    Scott EdwardsCaptain
    Max O'Dowd
    Max O'DowdBatsman
    Teja Nidamanuru
    Teja NidamanuruBatsman
    Wesley Barresi
    Wesley BarresiBatsman
  • NZ
    New Zealand
    Kane Williamson
    Kane WilliamsonCaptain
    Mark Chapman
    Mark ChapmanBatsman
    Will Young
    Will YoungBatsman
    Daryl Mitchell
    Daryl MitchellAll-Rounder
  • PAK
    Babar Azam
    Babar AzamCaptain
    Abdullah Shafique
    Abdullah ShafiqueBatsman
    Fakhar Zaman
    Fakhar ZamanBatsman
  • SA
    South Africa
    Temba Bavuma
    Temba BavumaCaptain
    David Miller
    David MillerBatsman
    Rassie van der Dussen
    Rassie van der DussenBatsman
    Reeza Hendricks
    Reeza HendricksBatsman
  • SL
    Sri Lanka
    Kusal Mendis
    Kusal MendisCaptain
    Angelo Mathews
    Angelo MathewsBatsman
    Charith Asalanka
    Charith AsalankaBatsman
    Dimuth Karunaratne
    Dimuth KarunaratneBatsman

Captains in World Cup

ALL World Cup History & Winners

2019 WinnerEngland

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Final was a One Day International cricket match played at Lord's in London, England, on 14 July 2019 to determine the winner of the 2019 Cricket World Cup. It was contested by the runners-up from the previous tournament, New Zealand, and the host nation, England. It was the fifth time Lord's had hosted the Cricket World Cup Final, the most of any ground.

New Zealand
New Zealand
Match tied (England won Super Over on boundary count)
Kane WilliamsonPlayer of the SeriesKane Williamson
Runs 578Wkts 02
Explore More

World Cup Overview FAQ

  • Is the 2023 World Cup in India?

    Yes, the 2023 World Cup is taking place in India. This is the fourth time India has hosted an ODI World Cup: 1987, 1996, 2011, and now 2023.

  • Which stadiums will host the 2023 World Cup?

    The ICC World Cup will take place at these 10 stadiums across India: Ahmedabad: Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera Bengaluru: M Chinnaswamy Stadium Chennai: MA Chidambaram Stadium Delhi: Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium Dharamsala: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium Lucknow: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium Hyderabad: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Uppal Pune: Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium Kolkata: Eden Gardens Mumbai: Wankhede Stadium

  • How many teams have qualified for the World Cup 2023?

    8 teams qualified for the World Cup through the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, including hosts India. Two more will qualify through the ongoing ICC Qualifiers.