Lok Sabha election 2019: BJP’s Arjun Singh alleges attack by Trinamool ‘goondas’ in Bengal’s Barrackpore

Television news channels showed Singh scuffling even as the BJP leader’s personal security guards tried to intervene. He was also shown fighting with a policeman.
Hindustan Times, Kolkata | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON MAY 06, 2019 07:44 PM IST

The BJP’s candidate in West Bengal’s Barrackpore parliamentary constituency Arjun Singh alleged he was “attacked by goondas” of the Trinamool Congress on Monday during the fifth phase of polling in the Lok Sabha election.

Television news channels showed Singh scuffling even as the BJP leader’s personal security guards tried to intervene. He was also shown fighting with a policeman. The incident happened in Mohanpur, about 29km to the north of state capital Kolkata.

“I was attacked by TMC goons while I was escorting some men (BJP supporters) who were being prevented from casting their votes,” alleged Singh.

Follow LIVE updates here.

He also claimed that the ruling Trinamool Congress party brought toughs from outside to assault him as he showed his injury to the mouth.

“It happened in front of the police. The inspector-in-charge of Titagarh police station was a mute spectator,” alleged Singh.

He called officials of the Election Commission to lodge a complaint.

Some locals also alleged that Singh’s supporters attacked them.

Singh got embroiled in a heated exchange in another booth in Mohanpur with a man, purportedly the polling agent of TMC, soon after the incident. The agent was shouting that the BJP candidate had no right to enter the booth as Singh said he had the right to get inside.

Also Read | Grenade attack on Kashmir poll booth, violence in Bengal as India votes in phase 5

Outside the booth, Singh told the media that he had gone there to facilitate the return of the BJP’s polling agent, who was turned out.

Reactions from the Trinamool were not available immediately.

Barrackpore is the most sensitive constituency among the seven Lok Sabha seats going to the polls on Monday. As many as 55 companies of central forces have been deployed in this constituency.

Sporadic clashes were reported in West Bengal, especially from Asansol, in the fourth phase of the general elections last week. Babul Supriyo’s car was vandalised in Asansol last week allegedly by stone-throwing Trinamool Congress supporters. The minister escaped unharmed with only the rear glass of the vehicle being damaged.

The poll watchdog had directed the state police to register an FIR against Supriyo for allegedly trespassing into polling booth number 199 and threatening a polling agent and an officer.

  Untitled Document

Constituency Sitting MP
Sitamarhi Ram Kumar Sharma, RLSP
Madhubani Chaudhary Hukumdev Narayan Yadav, BJP
Muzaffarpur Ajay Nishad, BJP
Saran Rajiv Pratap Rudy, BJP
Hajipur Ramvilas Paswan, LJP
Jammu and Kashmir
Ladakh Thupstan Chhewang, BJP
Anantnag Seat is vacant (PDP’s Mehbooba Mufti quit after becoming CM of the state)
Madhya Pradesh
Tikamgarh Virendra Kumar Khatik, BJP
Damoh Prahalad Singh Patel, BJP
Khajuraho Nagendra Singh, BJP
Satna Ganesh Singh
Rewa Janardan Mishra, BJP
Hoshangabad Uday Pratap Singh
Betul  Jyoti Dhurve, BJP
Ganganagar Nihalchand Meghwal, BJP
Bikaner Arun Ram Meghwal, BJP
Churu Rahul Kaswan, BJP
Jhunjhunu  Santosh Ahlawat, BJP
Sikar Sumedhanand Saraswati, BJP
Jaipur Rural Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, BJP
Jaipur Ramcharan Bohara, BJP
Alwar Chand Nath, BJP
Bharatpur Bahadur Singh, BJP
Karauli-Dholpur Manoj Rajoria, BJP
Dausa Harish Chandra Meena, BJP
Nagaur  C R Choudhary, BJP
Constituency Sitting MP
Kodarma Ravindra Kumar Ray, BJP
Ranchi Ram Tahal Choudhary, BJP
Khunti Kariya Munda, BJP
Hazaribagh Jayant Sinha, BJP
Uttar Pradesh
Dharuhera Rekha Verma, BJP
Sitapur Rajesh Verma, BJP
Mohanlalganj Kaushal Kishore, BJP
Lucknow Rajnath Singh, BJP
Rae Bareli Sonia Gandhi, Congress
Amethi Rahul Gandhi, Congress
Banda Bhairon Prasad Mishra, BJP
Fatehpur Niranjan Jyoti, BJP
Kaushambi Vinod Sonkar, BJP
Barabanki Priyanka Singh Rawat, BJP
Faizabad  Lallu Singh, BJP
Bahraich Savitri Bai Phule, BJP
Kaiserganj Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, BJP
Gonda Kirti Vardhan Singh, BJP
West Bengal
Bangaon Mamata Thakur, Trinamool Congress
Barrackpur Dinesh Trivedi, Trinamool Congress
Howrah Prasun Banerjee, Trinamool Congress
Uluberia Sajda Ahmed, Trinamool Congress
Sreerampur Kalyan Banerjee, Trinamool Congress
Hooghly  Dr Ratna De, Trinamool Congress
Arambag Aparupa Poddar, Trinamool Congress
Story Saved